Eva Fodor was born in 1979 in Satu-Mare, Romania and immigrated in 1988 with her familly to Israel. There, she studied conducting, oboe and composition at the Rubin Academy of Music and Dance in Jerusalem. As an oboist she played in various orchestras in Israel and was a member of the ensemble Israel Contemporary Players. International concert tours has led her to Italy, Spain, Germany, Poland, Russia and China. Afterwards, she continued her studies at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe with Prof. Thomas Indermühle (Oboe) and Prof. Péter Eötvös (Conducting), earning her diploma with distinction.

 

She has participated in masterclasses with Pierre Boulez, Péter Eötvös, Zsolt Nagy and Peter Rundel, which provided her further impulses in conducting. She has won scholarships from the Israel-America Cultural Foundation, the Stibet-programm of the DAAD und was honored with the Kulturpreis der Stadt Karlsruhe.

Since 2007, Eva has had a wide-ranging carrer in conducting, performing and teaching. Sie has conducted concerts with groups such as the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, Philharmonie Baden Baden, Northhungarian Symphony Orchestra Miskolc, Orchestre Philharmonique Luxembourg and Luzern Festival Academy Orchestra. She was guest conductor at Theater Basel, Grand Théâtre de Genève and ZKM Karlsruhe. She has been assistant conductor for Johannes Kalitzke, Peter Rundel, Zsolt Nagy and Walter Grimmer.

One of her focuses is the music of the 20th and 21st century. She has conducted many World Premiéres with ensembles such as Schola Heidelberg, Ascolta Stuttgart, E-MEX Düsseldorf, Hörsinn Münster, Folkwang Modern and has worked with many leading composers such as Wolfgang Rihm, N.A. Huber, Younghi Pagh-Paan, Jörg Widmann, Enno Poppe, Márton Illés and Vito Zuraj.

Another part of her musical work is the performance of original pieces and arrangement for concert band. She has worked with groups such as the Musikkorps der Bundeswehr, Landespolizeiorchester NRW, Concert Band HMDK Stuttgart, Concert Band der Universität Hohenheim and the music publisher Rundel.

 

From 2008 to 2018 Eva Fodor has taught conducting at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe.

Currently she is an associate lecturer for conducting at the HMDK Stuttgart and the Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen.

Eva Fodor wurde 1979 in Satu-Mare, Rumänien geboren und immigrierte 1988 mit ihrer Familie nach Israel. Sie studierte an der Rubin Akademie für Musik und Tanz in Jerusalem Dirigieren, Oboe und Komposition. Als Oboistin wirkte sie bei verschiedenen Orchestern in Israel mit und war Mitglied des Ensembles Israel Contemporary Players. Internationale Konzertreisen führten Sie nach Italien, Spanien, Deutschland, Polen, Russland und China. Es folgten ein Oboenstudium bei Prof. Thomas Indermühle und ein Dirigierstudium in der Meisterklasse von Prof. Péter Eötvös an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe, dass sie mit Auszeichnung abschloss.

 

Weitere Impulse im Dirigieren erfuhr sie durch internationale Meisterkurse mit Pierre Boulez, Péter Eötvös, Zsolt Nagy und Peter Rundel. Sie war Stipendiatin der Amerikanisch-Israelischen Kulturstiftung, des Stibet-Programms der DAAD und wurde mit dem Kulturpreis der Stadt Karlsruhe ausgezeichnet.

Seit 2007 ist Eva als Dirigentin breitgefächert konzertant und pädagogisch tätig. Sie dirigierte Konzerte unter anderem mit dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen, der Philharmonie Baden Baden, dem Nordungarischen Sinfonieorchester Miskolc, dem Orchestre Philharmonique Luxembourg und das Luzern Festival Academy Orchestra. Sie war Gastdirigentin am Theater Basel, am Grand Théâtre de Genève und am ZKM Karlsruhe. Sie war Assistentin der Dirigenten Johannes Kalitzke, Peter Rundel, Zsolt Nagy und Walter Grimmer.

 

Einer ihrer Schwerpunkte liegt in der Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts; sie dirigierte zahlreiche Uraufführungen unter anderem mit den Ensembles Schola Heidelberg, Ascolta Stuttgart, E-MEX Düsseldorf, Hörsinn Münster, Folkwang Modern und arbeitete mit führenden Komponisten zusammen, darunter: Wolfgang Rihm, N.A. Huber, Younghi Pagh-Paan, Jörg Widmann, Enno Poppe, Márton Illés und Vito Zuraj.

Ein weiterer Bereich ihres musikalischen Schaffens ist die Aufführung von Originalliteratur und Arrangement für Symphonisches Blasorchester. Sie arbeitete unter anderem mit dem Musikkorps der Bundeswehr, dem Landespolizeiorchester NRW, der Concert Band der HMDK Stuttgart, der Concert Band der Universität Hohenheim sowie dem Musikverlag Rundel zusammen.

 

Von 2008 bis 2018 unterrichtete sie Dirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. 

Derzeit ist sie Dozentin für Dirigieren an der HMDK Stuttgart und an der Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen.

© 2019 by Eva Fodor